Tasmanian News

Local Government Elections

Local Government electionsjpg

The position of Lord Mayor of Hobart has come down to a recheck of votes with Damon Thomas just 4 votes ahead of Sue Hickey in the final count

Bill Harvey's looks confirmed as deputy while in other southern councils Tony Foster, Doug Chipman, Kerry Vincent and Tony Bisdee are back.

on the North West coast Robyn Gerrity has lost the position of Mayor to Phil Vickers with Shayne Pitt as Deputy
Albert Van Zetten has been returned as Mayor for a fourth term in Launceston with Danny Gibson edging out Rob Soward by 170 votes for deputy.

Michael Kent has won Glamorgan Spring Bay over controversial incumbent Bertrand Cadart.

You may also like...

  • Soward charge
    Launceston's Deputy Mayor Rob Soward has been summonsed to appear in the magistrates court in July on a charge of using a carriage service to harass...
  • Vic public service jobs move to Ballarat
    Hundreds of state public service positions in Melbourne will be moved to regional Victoria under a plan to spread more government jobs around the...
  • Launceston Mayor Albert Van Zetten talks cash and town plans
    The City of Launceston is getting some cash to spend! Mayor Albert Van Zetten hosted Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull in Launceston on Thursday (...
  • Councils unswayed
    Treasurer Peter Gutwein's attempt to win over defiant councils about the government's takeover of TasWater seems to need more work. In a special...